Contact
Pfarrkirche Berwang
Berwang 8
6622 Berwang
+43 5674 5629
Zum heiligen Apostel Jakobus dem Älteren
First mentioned in the year 1434, the parish church in the village of Berwang has been altered multiple times. It belongs to the Deanery of Breitenwang and the Diocese of Innsbruck.
History:
A previously existing Gothic chapel was expanded between 1730 and 1734 by the addition of a Romanesque nave and was consecrated on October 13, 1734, by Auxiliary Bishop Ferdinand Joseph Count of Sarntheim. Today, only the Gothic altar area remains from this time. A year later, the well-known regional painter Paul Zeiller painted the high altar painting "Maria hands the rosary to Saints Dominic, James, and Andrew," which now hangs on a side wall in the church’s presbytery.
In 1744, a new altar, a new confessionals, and the still-preserved pulpit were added. The two side altars were dedicated to St. Sebastian and Mary.
After a large dust avalanche damaged both the windows and the tower of the church in 1816, it was rebuilt shortened by 10m.
The baroque high altar was replaced by a neo-Gothic altar during a large-scale restoration of the church in 1879/1880. At this time, the first ceiling painting, which is no longer extant today, was also created.
Between 1944 and 1948, the interior of the church was completely redesigned: both the altars and the Stations of the Cross from the 18th century, as well as the ceiling frescoes, were either sold or demolished.
Since then, the high altar features an impressive sculpture representing the Last Supper, adorned with two neo-Gothic towers.
Both side altars were replaced by wall paintings of Mary and St. Sebastian, which were soon painted over again. Today, there is a life-size crucifix and a relief of Sebastian on the right side altar. A statue of Mary has been erected on the left side altar.
The ceiling paintings today depict the Annunciation, the Adoration of the Shepherds, and St. Cecilia with musical angels. In 1946, the Ten Commandments were also depicted on the balustrade of the double gallery.
Tyrolean Cultural Register:
Located in the southern area of the village, surrounded by a cemetery with a surrounding wall. A chapel was expanded into the church around 1430, remodeled from 1731 to 1735, with the furnishings renewed from 1944 to 1948. A simple four-bay structure with a steep gable roof and a polygonal Gothic choir with a tower added to the north side. The wide, well-lit interior features a barrel vault over pilaster structuring and a massive double gallery, influenced by the Baroque renovation and modernization of the 20th century. Ceiling paintings, inscribed 1944.